Friday, October 13, 2017

Book Review of A Vampire’s Tale By Maya Tyler

A Vampire's Tale
By: Maya Tyler
Review By: Brittany Perez (Oh My Bookness) October 13,2017 5:46pm



  • Publication date: March 22, 2017
  • Publisher: Tirgearr Publishing
  • Book Length:  163 pages 
  • ASIN: B01MYBQUUZ

Book Description:

The best laid plans…

Marisa Clements was never satisfied writing the ‘gossip column’ in the local paper so she quit her job to follow her dream of writing fiction. Floundering in an unforgiving industry, she wrote about vampires, a popular subject she considered fascinating but as real as unicorns, to pay the rent.

Corgan Halton was tired of human misconceptions about vampires. He planned on telling Marisa his story and end his existence. It was no coincidence Corgan selected Marisa to write his story. With the ability to see the future, he knew she would be a major part of it. He knew she would be the one to help him die, but in doing so, she’d be doomed to the same fate. Once they met, their futures would be irrevocably intertwined.

Corgan began caring for Marisa and finally revealed the truth to her. He admitted his quest to atone for his past sins had put her in grave danger from a nest of revenge-seeking vampires. Corgan must claim her for her own protection. But claiming her is not enough, he must ask for help from his wizard friends and his maker in order to destroy his enemy or Marisa will never be safe.

Book Review:

A Vampire's Tale
Author: Maya Tyler

 So, ‘A Vampire’s Tale’ the description alone in the beginning set an alarm ringing in my head, those who remember ‘Interview with the Vampire’ a bicentennial vampire who was eager to tell his past to a biographer. Corgan Halton also an ancient vampire wants his story to be told by Marisa Clements who is a struggling writer. Corgan can see the future and fears for Marisa life who he has grown to care for. Something else reminds me of another story of like Marisa, she is able to shut Corgan out of her head which no one else had the ability to do before. I heard of something like this before, I got my finger on it but will not push.

 I personally know the struggles of not wanting to give to much away but also tell the reader just enough so they will be interested but it doesn't always come out, per-say how we may wanted it to. So it took a lot of thought before reading the book and let me say, the description was entirely accurate but at the same time was not. It was though in its self an original story you will see in there as you read. Though description I feel discourages a reader from taking a chance if you are familiar with the classics and the new vampire story's. You will see a familiar rendering, but this reader took a chance....

 Other than that it’s a action story with just enough romance that’s also filled with inventive imagination writing filled with fulfillment of mysterious events. Maya Tyler vampire book has at least ventured away from stupid original blood sucking sex and kept it a little humor. That I can enjoy a fresher perspective on are favorite supernatural creatures of the night. But this is sadly for me where it ends and starts to become another cliche and all to familiar sounding writers choice, Corgan swore to protect Marissa from harm, from the other evil vampires, another all to familiar plot choice.

Anyway, it’s not that long to get through but besides the familiarities and if you can get your mind past it, its a easy read.  It’s just not the book for me. I like to read something with fresh ideas, and it showed that it had potential but what ruins it for me is the time and again, age old story not told or spun much different. Like re-reading the same book(s) but different author for umpteenth time. For those who aren’t bothered reading with that in mind, see what Corgan past was like and where his future will take you. If you are fan of Twilight by Stephanie Meyer or The House of Night by P.C Cast and Kristin Cast you may enjoy Vampire's Tales. It's a chance I recommend if your fan of these series or anything similar as I mentioned above.

Read excerpt of book from Publisher, Tigearr Publishing.

About The Author:


Author Maya Tyler

Purchase Book:





Follow Oh My Bookness© and More:


Contact:


Follow/ Keep Up To Date:

©Published 13th October  by  All Rights Reserved to Oh My Bookness and The above and its Contributors.











©Britany Perez and Oh My Bookness October 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Brittany Perez Oh My Bookness with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.


Thursday, March 30, 2017

Bookreview From Oh My Bookness: Blake's Rope by Ronder Scott

Blake's Rope
Ronder Scott 


  • Publication date: November 21, 2016
  • Publisher: Tenth Street Press
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01N43XL6W


Book Description:
A young girl inherits the dark side of fame. In Blake’s Rope nothing is what it seems. Robin Evans, a struggling songstress seeks help in sorting out her damaged past. ...

Book Review:
Blake's Rope
Author: Ronder Scott
Review By: Brittany Perez (Oh My Bookness)
@ohmybookness
March 30, 2017


How do we know if we are sane or a little madd, are we really hearing or seeing what's right in front of us. How about that one sock that got lost in the washing machine, you know there's a match in there, you swear they went in together but only one came out! Well, Robin Evans swears she witnessed the burning of her family's home, except the home and her family thinks she nuts, there was no fire, is she crazy? She swears she saw a little boy in the back seat of her car before she crashed it,  she woke  up in a psych ward. No one believes her, only she doesn't know she's in for another ride for her life. 

There is Chinedu Adesanya from Africa, destined to be in Robins life, but there is a unholy vibe about Chinedu family. A darkness from his mothers side of the family, she practices occultism. Witchcraft that leads him to Louisiana to follow what usually happens in every reincarnation of his life. Yes, you read right, reincarnation. There's almost everything in this book that might intrigue everyone. You'll have to read what happens to Robin, will she meet up with Chinedu? Is she crazy or is there a life out there she doesn't know about? This book will keep you dazzled and make you think, “What the f..k!?"

About Author:






Purchase Book:



Follow Oh My Bookness©





©Published 30th March  by  All Rights Reserved to Oh My Bookness and The above and its Contributors.











©Britany Perez and Oh My Bookness March 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Brittany Perez Oh My Bookness with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Bookreview from Oh My Bookness: Progeny of a Killer J.M Shorney

Progeny of a Killer 
J.M Shorney

  • Publication date: May 27, 2014
  • Publisher: Consilience Media
  • Length Paperback: 232
  • ASIN: B00MWSWPQA
  • ISBN-10: 1910223050
  • ISBN- 13: 978-1910223055


Book Description:

Sometimes the past throws up more than you can handle... When Aidan McRaney is sent into infiltrate the lair of a man obsessed with seeking revenge on the British for the murder of his IRA father, he is forced to confront a past he never knew existed. A fast-paced, tense thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat.

Book Review:
Progeny of a Killer
Author: J.M Shorney 
Review By: Brittany Perez (Oh My Bookness)
@ohmybookness
February 28, 2017




Progeny Of a Killer by J.M. Shorney is book three of The Aidan McRaney Trilogy J.M. Shorney  takes the reader through a journey of The Troubled times in Irish history and incorporates it into a intricate and intriguing, suspenseful, dark, take on a psychological semi thriller.Aidan McRaney, one of the protagonist is a 1-con who is trying to do the right thing even when it seems impossible. He is sent to infiltrate the lair of Corrigan who is looking for revenge for his murdered IRA father.  Corrigan and McRaney paths cross in more ways than he can understand. More complicated along the way.

 In Progeny Of a Killer by J. M. Shorney, the characters are haunted by their irish past and the past have a nasty habit of returning. The details of the story are meticulous and is fast paced. The author has away of building up the tension and the suspense.  The author is quite detailed in graphics and it keeps you hooked with the visionary detail. With so much going it maybe easy to over look the subtle things going. The transitions are not perfect, from past to present, but overall you cant deny the writers technique to draw a reader in.






About The Author JM Shorney:


I live in Thatcham in Berkshire, and work part time in a local care home. I spend the rest of my day writing, and have published five books online. The inspiration for my novels comes largely from the movies I watch, and from writers such as Jack Higgins and Gerald Seymour. I love all things Irish. I listen to old country and Irish country music while I write. Also old Methodist hymns. The music is conducive to scene setting, in which I often lose myself.


Links:

Jean's website: jmshorney.wordpress.com

Purchase Book:



Follow Oh My Bookness©





©Published 28th February  by  All Rights Reserved to Oh My Bookness and The above and its Contributors.











©Britany Perez and Oh My Bookness February 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Brittany Perez Oh My Bookness with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Book Review From Oh My Bookness: The Revenants: The Odyssey Home by Scott Kauffman

The Revenants: The Odyssey Home 
Scott Kauffman 


Paperback: 306 pages
Publisher: Moonshine Cove Publishing, LLC
ISBN-10: 1937327817
Release Date: December 15, 2015




Book Description:
A grief-stricken candy-striper serving in a VA hospital following her brother’s death in Viet Nam struggles to return home an anonymous veteran of the Great War against the skullduggery of a congressman who not only controls the hospital as part of his small-town fiefdom but knows the name of her veteran. A name if revealed would end his political ambitions and his fifty-year marriage. In its retelling of Odysseus’s journey, Revenants casts a flickering candle upon the charon toll exacted not only from the families of those who fail to return home but of those who do.



Book Review:
Revenants: The Odyssey Home 
Author: Scott Kauffman 
Review By: Brittany Perez (Oh My Bookness)
@ohmybookness
December 20, 2016



 This book of Scott Kauffman is a story base on the war that a lot of people protested of which our men were sent to fight, the much controversy the Vietnam War. It was a long war with continuing protest of anti-war and other marches conducted by students and of the hippie movement and others that felt the war was no place for us. 
 Of course what of the volunteer worker without pay, the candy stripers that work under the supervision of the nurses in the hospitals. If anyone is wondering and doesn’t know why they are called ‘candy striper’ here's a little tidbit. The pinafores that is worn has red and white stripes which is remindful of a candy cane, henceforth candy striper. That is what Betsy decided to become working in a V A hospital after her brothers death from the war. 
 Scott Kauffman describes in his story the destruction the Vietnam War had left behind, not only for the for the families that had a family member that fought and died but also the political outcome of a war and its hidden secrets. This is a story of empathy, deceit and determination. That's what Betsy has a whole lot of determination to set forth her plan as if she was fighting a war herself. I highly enjoyed this book, it's not just a book about a war but getting someone home that Betsy doesn't know but has a lot of empathy for. Some may think why? What is the point since he didn't have long to live. That's not the point, it's also about a family that needs closer, doesn't this soldier have the right to return to his family even though his last breath might just to say good-bye. I know if it was up to me I would act as Betsy did, even for a moment of his life it's knowing a family was brought back together. A act of kindness goes a long way. Read the book I dare you to be swept away.





About The Author:


Scott claims his fiction career began with an in-class book report written in Mrs. Baer’s eighth-grade English class when, due to a conflict of priorities, he failed to read the book. An exercise of imagination was required. Scott snagged a B, better than the C he received on his last report when he actually read the book. Thus began his life-long apprenticeship as a teller of tales and, some would snidely suggest, as a lawyer as well, but they would be cynics, a race Oscar Wilde warned us knew the price of everything and the value of nothing. Scott is the author of the legal-suspense novel, In Deepest Consequences, and a recipient of the 2011 Mighty River Short Story Contest and the 2010 Hackney Literary Award. His short fiction has been appeared in Big Muddy, Adelaide Magazine, and Lascaux Review. He is now at work on two novel manuscripts and a collection of short stories. He is an attorney in Irvine, California, where his practice focuses upon white-collar crime and tax litigation with his clients providing him endless story fodder. He graduated summa cum laude from Ohio University in Athens, Ohio, and in the upper ten percent of his class from Lewis & Clark Law School in Portland, Oregon, where he was a member of the Environmental Law Review and received the American Jurisprudence Award in Conflict of Laws.

Web:
Scott Kauffman

Follow:
Facebook
Twitter
Follow Oh My Bookness©

©Published 20th December  by  All Rights Reserved to Oh My Bookness and The above and its Contributors.


©Britany Perez and Oh My Bookness December 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Brittany Perez Oh My Bookness with appropriate and specific direction to the original content,